How One Veteran Went from Denied to Approved by Changing How He Filed

The First Claim: What Went Wrong

David is a 48-year-old Army veteran. Two tours in Iraq. He came home with invisible wounds that got worse over the years, not better. His service-connected disabilities: PTSD at 70 percent, Traumatic Brain Injury at 40 percent, migraine headaches at 50 percent, cervical spine condition at 20 percent, and tinnitus at 10 percent. Combined rating: 100 percent. David was already receiving standard 100 percent compensation. But his daily life was falling apart in ways that a percentage cannot describe. So he filed for Aid and Attendance. He submitted a basic claim with his medical records. He figured the VA could see his diagnoses and connect the dots. The VA denied him. The denial letter said David could dress himself, feed himself, and use the bathroom independently. According to the rater, he did not need the regular aid and attendance of another person. On paper, the rater was not entirely wrong about the ADLs. David could technically do those things. But the rater missed the entire other half of the picture.

What David's Life Actually Looked Like

Here is what the denial letter never mentioned, because the evidence never clearly laid it out. David gets migraines three to four times a week. During an episode, he is done. He goes to a dark room. He cannot see clearly, cannot tolerate sound, and cannot function for four to eight hours at a stretch. During those hours, he is essentially unable to respond to anything around him. Between episodes, David deals with his TBI. His short-term memory is unreliable. He forgets whether he has taken his medication. Twice, he took double doses. Other times, he skipped them entirely. He has left the stove on and his wife came home to find a pot burning dry. That happened twice in one year. He falls. Seven times in the past twelve months. Three of those resulted in injuries. One happened in the shower. His PTSD causes dissociative episodes a few times a month. During those episodes, he is temporarily disconnected from his surroundings. His wife has found him standing in the kitchen, unresponsive, staring at the wall. None of this was in his original claim in any meaningful detail. The medical records listed diagnoses and treatment notes, but they did not paint the picture of a man who cannot safely be left alone.

What His Wife Was Already Doing

David's wife, Sarah, had restructured her entire life around keeping him safe. She just never thought of it as aid and attendance. Every morning, she wakes up before David to sort his medications into daily compartments. She cannot trust him to manage them on his own. She calls or texts him multiple times during the day when she has to leave the house. Not because she is checking in casually. Because she is worried about what might happen while she is gone. She adjusted her work schedule to be home by early afternoon. David's migraines tend to peak in the afternoon, and she does not want him alone during an episode. She handles all the cooking. After the two stove incidents, she will not let him use the kitchen unsupervised. She stands outside the bathroom when he showers. After the shower fall, she made this non-negotiable. She drives him everywhere. His dizziness and the unpredictable onset of migraines make driving unsafe. She manages the household finances. David's cognitive issues cause him to make errors with numbers and forget to pay bills. Sarah was providing textbook aid and attendance. But none of it was in the claim file.

The Supplemental Claim: What Changed

David did not give up. He took stock of what went wrong and rebuilt his claim from scratch. Here is the evidence he submitted with his supplemental claim. First, a new VA Form 21-2680, filled out by his neurologist. David sat down with his neurologist before the form was completed. He explained what the form was for and walked through his daily limitations. On the hazard protection question, the neurologist wrote: This veteran cannot safely be left alone for extended periods due to the combination of severe migraines, TBI-related cognitive impairment, and balance dysfunction. He requires the regular presence and assistance of another person to protect him from hazards in his daily environment. Second, a four-page lay statement from Sarah. She described waking up at 6:15 to organize medications. She described the three phone calls she makes every day when she leaves the house. She described rearranging her work schedule and why. She described standing outside the bathroom door during showers. She described the two stove incidents with dates. She described finding David dissociative in the kitchen. She described the migraine episodes and what she does during them. She described what she has given up: overtime at work, social events, sleep, peace of mind. Third, David's personal statement describing his own experience. The frustration of knowing he cannot trust his own memory. The fear of falling. The helplessness during a migraine episode.

The Supporting Documentation

Beyond the statements, David built a paper trail of supporting evidence. A fall log listing all seven falls from the past year. For each one: the date, where it happened, what he was doing, whether he was injured, and whether anyone was present. A medication management record documenting every instance where he took a wrong dose or missed medications entirely. He included a note from his pharmacist about switching to a weekly pill organizer supervised by his wife. A six-month migraine diary tracking every migraine. Date, time of onset, duration, severity on a scale of 1 to 10, and what Sarah had to do during each episode. The diary showed 42 severe migraine episodes in six months. Each one lasted between four and eight hours. During each one, Sarah was either present or rushed home.

The Decision

The VA granted SMC-L (Aid and Attendance). The rating decision specifically cited the fall history and the risk of further injury, the two stove incidents and the ongoing risk of appliance-related hazards, the medication errors and the need for supervised medication management, the incapacitating nature of the migraines and the need for someone present during episodes, and Sarah's detailed lay statement describing daily assistance. The decision was based on the need for regular aid and attendance to protect David from the hazards of his daily environment. The same veteran. The same conditions. A completely different outcome.

What Made the Difference

David's disabilities did not get worse between the first claim and the second. What changed was how the evidence told his story. The first claim said: Here are my diagnoses. The VA looked at the diagnoses, saw that David could perform basic ADLs, and said no. The second claim said: Here is what my daily life looks like, here are the specific hazards I face, here is exactly what my wife does to keep me safe, and here is the documentation to prove all of it. The VA looked at the complete picture and said yes. The lesson is not complicated, but it matters: the VA decides claims based on evidence, not assumptions. If the evidence does not clearly describe your functional limitations and the help you receive, the rater will not fill in the gaps for you.

Five Things David Did That You Can Do Too

Document everything starting today. Falls, medication errors, migraine episodes, bad days. Keep it simple: date, what happened, who helped. Do this for at least three to six months before filing. Coach your doctor on the 21-2680. Do not hand them the form and hope for the best. Sit down with them. Explain your daily hazards. Ask them to be specific about why you need someone present. Get a detailed lay statement. Not a paragraph. A real statement that walks through a typical day, a bad day, and specific incidents. The person writing it should describe what they do, how often, and what they worry about. Write your own statement. Be honest about your limitations. Do not minimize. Do not perform toughness for the VA. Describe your reality. Frame the claim around hazards, not just ADLs. If your conditions create safety risks that require someone to monitor or assist you, say that explicitly. Make sure every piece of evidence connects back to the hazard rule.

It Is Not Over Until You Say It Is

David was denied. He could have accepted that. Many veterans do. They get the letter, feel the frustration, and move on. David did not move on. He figured out what was missing, built a better case, and filed again. The result was a benefit worth thousands of additional dollars per year, tax-free. If you have been denied, the question is not whether the VA said no. The question is whether they had the full picture when they said it. If they did not, you have work to do. And now you know how to do it.

  • All VA claims and benefits articles
  • SMC Eligibility Checker
  • SMC Evidence Builder
  • Evidence Generator